Join FNA or Renew
In This Section
Become an FNA Member

Florida Nurses Foundation
Florida Career Center

FNA Wall of Honor

The FNA Hall of Fame recognizes Florida nurses who have made, sustained, and enduring contributions of enduring value to the nursing profession. This is FNA's highest honor. Congratulations to the FNA's Hall of Fame Awardees :

2014: Mary Lou Brunell, MSN, RN
2014: Jean Kijek, PhD, RN
2014: Barbara Russell, MPH, RN
2013: Anne Peach, MSN, RN, CNAA, BC
2013: Jo Manion, PhD, RN, NEW-BC, FAAN
2013: Sande Garcia Jones, PhD, ARNP, ACRN, FAAN 
2012: Claydell Horne, RN
2012: Patricia Messmer, RN
2011: Mike Nilsson, RN BSN
2009: Charlotte Dison, MSN, RN
2005: Paula Massey, MS, RN
2005: Barbara Lumpkin, RN
2005: Lois Malasanos, RN, PhD
2005: Willa Carson, RN
2005: Ruth Jacobs, RN
2005: Nancy Hartley, RN
2005: Carolyn Vallone, RN
2001: Dorothy Smith, ARNP
2001: Margretta Madden Styles, RN
2001: Mary Elizabeth Carnegie, RN
2001: Undine Sams, RN
2014 Florida Nurses Association Award Winners
Mary Cash Award recognizes an individual nurse who has made outstanding contributions to cultural diversity in nursing and health care.
Dr. Maria Siedel of Port St. Lucie, FL
Undine Sams Award recognizes an individual staff nurse, collective bargaining eligible, who has made significant contributions to enhance the rights and welfare of nurses through labor employee relations and work place advocacy activities.
Mark Welz, RN of High Springs, FL
Nurse Educator Award recognizes a Nurse Educator who is committed to education and the educational process. They create a stimulating environment in which to mentor students and/or clients through the learning process.
Dr. Guillermo Valdes of Miami, FL
Barbara Lumpkin Award recognizes a nurse who has made a significant impact in political and legislative issues affecting nurses, nursing, and quality health care.
Bonnie Sklaren, MSN, RN of Gulfport, FL
Heather Scaglione Award recognizes an FNA member’s significant and outstanding contribution to support the work of the Florida Nursing Student’s Association and nursing students.
Dr. Linda Howe of Orlando, FL and Joan Castleman, MN, RN of Gainesville, FL
Registered Nurse Practice Award honors an individual nurse, working in a role other than an advanced practice role, who has demonstrated excellence in a nursing practice setting.
Mary Ruff, RN of Jacksonville, FL
Advanced Practice Nursing Award recognizes an individual Advanced Practice Nurse who exemplifies excellence in performing the advanced practice role.
Dr. Betsy Fernandez of Miami, FL
Community Action Award recognizes outstanding voluntary contributions by FNA members (group or individual) to the health and welfare of a community through an organized and systematic effort.
Dr. Terri Lynn Bianchi of Ormond Beach, FL and Danell Deberg, Esq., RN of St. Petersburg, FL
Nursing Research Award recognizes a nurse who has produced research of scientific merit with relevance to the practice of nursing.
Dr. Theresa Morrison of Naples, FL
Promoting and Environment for Excellence in Nursing Practice honor employers, nursing service departments or other entities that create a work environment supportive of professional nursing practice.
4 West Unit – Shands at UF in Gainesville, FL
Legislator of the Year recognizes a politician who is a spokeperson in Tallahassee for the advancement of the nursing profession and improved health care.
Representative Dr. Cary Pigman of Sebring, FL
Communications/Media Award honors an individual or group in the field of communications for production of written or electronic media which educates the public about nursing and nursing’s impact on health care.
Carol Gentry of Health News Florida
2014 FNA Lamplighters
We are pleased to honor the 2014 FNA Lamplighters for their 25 years of continuous membership in FNA/ANA.
  • William Ahrens
  • Patricia Cordell
  • Helene DeFrancesco
  • Kathy Ebener
  • Karen Goodsen
  • Denise Heineman
  • Shirley Hill
  • Linda Howe
  • Christina McClean
  • Jean Penny
  • Maria Seidel
  • Connie Upshaw
2014 FNA Clinical Excellence Exemplar Winners
  • Linda Northrup from Tampa General Hospital
Stranger in a Strange Land
  • Ritchel Articulo from Tampa General Hospital
  • The Legacy of Burn Nursing Continues
  • Megan Barkhurst from Morton Plant Mease, BayCare Health System Nursing Intuition
  • Kathlene Barrett from Tampa General Hospital I am a Burn Nurse
  • Judith Clark from Tampa General Hospital Taking Time to Listen
  • Lyn Payne from Morton Plant Mease, BayCare Health System Who are Your Patients?
  • Donna Gerena from Tampa General Hospital Teamwork
  • Bianca Vazquez from UF Health Shands Touching Lives
  • Teresa Birmingham from Tampa General Hospital The Chosen One
  • Frank Wood from Tampa General Hospital Loneliness and Isolation I Could Not Imagine
  • Maria Elvira Sevillano from Tampa General Hospital Her Last Day: The Most Important Day of Her Life
  • Leslie Gervase from Morton Plant Mease, BayCare Health System Just Another Christmas
  • Kelsey Logan from Tampa General Hospital Patient Centered End of Life Care
  • Christopher Mallozzi from Tampa General Hospital All Dressed In White