Join FNA or Renew
In This Section
Become an FNA Member

Florida Nurses Foundation
Florida Career Center

News & Events

Joint Statement regarding the Ebola virus - 10-17-2014

Marie Watteau, AHA
Phone: 202-626-2351
Stephanie Johnson, AMA
Phone: 312-464-5921
Joan Hurwitz, ANA
Phone: 301-628-5020


As our nation's strategy to address the Ebola virus continues to evolve, hospitals and their partners in nursing and medicine are coming together to emphasize that a solution-oriented, collaborative approach to Ebola preparedness is essential to effectively manage care of Ebola patients in the U.S. Ensuring safe care for patients, healthcare workers, and communities demands the combined efforts of inter-professional, state, and federal organizations. In addition to domestic efforts to prepare for and treat Ebola, an enhanced focus on the part of the United States and the international community to contain the outbreak in West Africa is fundamental to stopping the spread of this virus.

Hospitals, physicians, and nurses have the same goals in addressing any Ebola case: to ensure that all hospital and clinical staff are able to safely provide high-quality, appropriate, patient care. We are committed to ensuring that nurses, physicians and all front-line healthcare providers have the proper training, equipment, and protocols to remain safe and provide the highest quality care for the patient. As the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) updates the protocols and procedures involved with patient care and personal protective equipment, we will review and share updated guidance with our collective memberships as it becomes available.

Our nation's hospitals, physician, and professional nursing organizations remain in communication with one another and with our nation's public health institutions at the local, state, and national levels. We are committed to maintaining a strong collaborative effort to address this public health threat.

Florida Blue Foundation Awards 2014 Nursing Mini-Grants - 10-16-2014
NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Paul Kluding October 16, 2014 PHONE: 904-905-3404 EMAIL:

Florida Blue Foundation Awards 2014 Nursing Mini-Grants

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Four Florida nursing colleges and one community foundation are sharing $213,617 in funding from the Florida Blue Foundation through a competitive Nursing Mini-Grant program. One of the grant projects supports the goals of the Florida Healthcare Simulation Alliance to accelerate and optimize use of patient simulation labs in nurse education and training. The other four grant projects are aligned with the goals of the Florida Action Coalition to improve patient access to quality, cost-effective health care through changes in nursing and health care delivery.

The one mini-grant for simulation is: * University of North Florida - Duval Co.

The four mini-grants for improving safety in patient care are: * Community Foundation of Sarasota County, Inc. - Sarasota Co. * University of Central Florida Research Foundation, Inc. - Orange Co. * University of Florida Foundation, Inc. for the UF College of Nursing - Alachua Co. * University of Miami - Dade Co.

One of the Florida Blue Foundation's areas of focus is improving the quality and safety of patient care. Nurses comprise the largest segment of the health care workforce and have a significant role in patient outcomes. Many of the Foundation's efforts in this area are aimed at developing a well-prepared nurse workforce to meet the growing and complex health care needs of the people of Florida.

Florida Blue Foundation enables healthy communities by making grants, building coalitions and rewarding best practices. More than three million people in Florida have received direct health services as a result of grants made to nonprofit organizations since our founding in 2001. Florida Blue Foundation is a trade name of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida Foundation, Inc., an Independent Licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association. For more information about the Foundation, please visit Florida Blue and the Florida Blue Foundation are on Facebook and Twitter. ###